The Hook 5 by Arthur, Freedom Parapente :

Arthur Freedom Parapente

"The Hook 5 is a nice classic EN B in the air that is a little faster and more responsive than a school glider. I use it in training to open up student flights."

What are the technical evolutions of this 5th version?

This new version of the Hook has, among other things, 5 additional cells compared to the Hook 4 to reach a total of 52 cells, a tissue that is now identical between the intrados and extrados and a significant lightening of the whole. We find ourselves with a 4.6 kg sail in 24 m²!

On the characteristics side we find the RAM technology, a dynamic air intake system that maintains an ideal air pressure at the leading edge and in the whole wing. There are also the SLE and TNT technologies based on Nitinol which replace the old plastic rods. Niviuk has also optimised the airflow at the trailing edge thanks to its DRS technology which limits drag. There are therefore many developments with a simple objective: "to offer maximum accessibility and safety".

Niviuk Hook 5
Hook 5 gonflage
Hook 5 pilotage
Hook 5 puy de dome

How does the Hook 5 behave?

In terms of behaviour, the Hook 5 offers a lot of passive safety and reacts like a training glider in flight incidents. It is therefore a very tolerant AND efficient glider. Its glide ratio is much better than a basic school glider, which can be surprising on the first landings when you come from a classic EN A school glider. Don't be surprised to be too long during the first flights, the Hook 5 glides well for sure! The glider is very playful and easy to control and in flight it is solid and stable above your head.

But the great strength of the Hook 5 is above all its versatility because it allows you to discover cross country as well as freestyle. Of course it is lighter in terms of lines and will be more fragile than a pure freestyle but it allows great evolutions without complicating life. With the Hook 5 you can send your first helicopters, mistys, dynamic stalls, sats, asymmetrical sats, in short you can have fun with a playful glider. But if you prefer to rack up the miles, you will discover a very healthy sail in thermals which turns easily and which allows you to exploit the ascent quite intuitively.

Hook 5

Who is the Hook 5 for?

After starting to learn under the Koyot 4, and once the basics have been mastered (take off, pendulum movements, landing), the Niviuk Hook 5 is an ideal and complete glider to continue your progression. The Hook 5 is a perfect, stable and very forgiving glider and will allow you to try all disciplines with a maximum of fun.

Technical specifications of the Niviuk Hook 5 paraglider :

HOOK 5 20 22 24 26 28 31
Cells number 47 47 47 47 47 47
Aspect ratio flat 5,3 5,3 5,3 5,3 5,3 5,3
Aspect ratio projected 3,98 3,98 3,98 3,98 3,98 3,98
Surface flat m2 20 22 24 26 28 31
Surface projected m2 17,06 18,76 20,47 22,17 23,88 26,44
Cord max m 2,42 2,54 2,66 2,76 2,87 3,02
Lines total m 207 218 228 238 247 260
Risers number A+A'/B/C A+A'/B/C A+A'/B/C A+A'/B/C A+A'/B/C A+A'/B/C
Total weight in flight kg 55 - 70 60 - 80 70 - 92 82 - 105 95 - 120 110 - 135
Extended weight in flight kg 55 - 85 60 - 95  70 - 105 82 - 120 - -
Glider weight 3,9 4,3 4,6 4,9 5,2 5,5
Certification B B B B B B

The different colours of the Hook 5 :

Hook 5 Astral Astral
Hook 5 Bora Bora
Hook 5 Soul Soul
Hook 5 Citrus Citrus

In conclusion :

What we like about this sail is really its versatility. With a Hook 5 you can enjoy every flight no matter what you want to do. Waga, acrobatics, first 100 km, it's happiness every time.

La Hook 5 vue par Arthur, Freedom Parapente :

Arthur Freedom Parapente

"La Hook 5 est une EN B classique agréable en l’air qui se veut un peu plus rapide et plus réactive qu’une voile école. Je l’utilise en stage pour ouvrir les vols des élèves."

Quelles sont les évolutions techniques de cette 5e version

Cette nouvelle version de la Hook dispose entre autre de 5 alvéoles supplémentaires par rapport à la Hook 4 pour arriver à 52 cellules au total, d’un tissu désormais identique entre l’intrados et l’extrados ainsi que d’un allègement sensible de l’ensemble. On se retrouve en effet avec une voile de 4,6 Kg en 24 m² !

Coté caractéristiques on retrouve la technologie RAM, un système d’admission d’air dynamique qui maintien une pression d’air idéale au niveau du bord d’attaque et dans l’ensemble de l’aile. On retrouve également les technologies SLE et TNT à base de Nitinol qui se substituent aux anciens joncs en plastique. Niviuk a également optimisé l’écoulement des filets d’air au niveau du bord de fuite grâce à sa technologie DRS qui limite la traînée. Les évolutions sont donc multiples pour un objectif simple : « offrir un maximum d'accessibilité et de sécurité »

Niviuk Hook 5
Hook 5 gonflage
Hook 5 pilotage
Hook 5 puy de dome

Quel est le comportement de la Hook 5 ?

Niveau comportement, la Hook 5 offre beaucoup de sécurité passive et réagit comme une voile école en incident de vol. C’est donc une voile très tolérante ET performante. Son plané est en effet nettement supérieur à une voile école basique ce qui d’ailleurs peut surprendre lors des premiers atterrissages quand on vient d’un parapente école EN A classique. Ne vous étonnez pas d’être trop long lors des premiers vols, la Hook 5 plane bien c’est certain ! Au gonflage la voile est hyper ludique et se contrôle très facilement et en vol elle est solide et stable au dessus de la tête.

Mais la grande force de la Hook 5 c’est avant tout sa polyvalence car elle permet aussi bien de découvrir le cross que de s’essayer au freestyle. Bien évidemment elle est allégée au niveau des suspentes et sera plus fragiles qu’une pure freestyle mais elle autorise de belles évolutions sans se compliquer la vie. Avec la Hook 5 on peut envoyer ses premiers hélicos, ses mistys, des décrochages dynamiques, des sats, des sats asymétriques, bref de quoi se faire plaisir avec une voile ludique. Mais si on préfère engranger les kilomètres on découvre alors une voile très saine en thermique qui tourne facilement et qui permet d’exploiter les ascendance assez intuitivement.

Hook 5

A qui se destine la Hook 5

Après un début d'apprentissage sous la Koyot 4, et une fois les bases bien maîtrisées (décollage, mouvements pendulaires, atterrissage), La Hook 5 de Niviuk est une voile idéale et complète pour continuer sa progression. Elle est vraiment perf, stable et très tolérante et vous permettra de vous essayer à toutes les disciplines avec un max de fun.

Spécifications techniques du parapente Niviuk Hook 5 :

HOOK 5     20 22 24 26 28 31
Alvéoles Nombre   47 47 47 47 47 47
Allongement     5,3 5,3 5,3 5,3 5,3 5,3
  Projectée   3,98 3,98 3,98 3,98 3,98 3,98
Surface À Plat m2 20 22 24 26 28 31
  Projectée m2 17,06 18,76 20,47 22,17 23,88 26,44
Corde Envergure  m 2,42 2,54 2,66 2,76 2,87 3,02
Suspentes Total m 207 218 228 238 247 260
Élévateurs Nombre 4 A+A'/B/C A+A'/B/C A+A'/B/C A+A'/B/C A+A'/B/C A+A'/B/C
Poids total volant Min - Max kg 55 - 70 60 - 80 70 - 92 82 - 105 95 - 120 110 - 135
Poids total volant étendu Min - Max kg 55 - 85 60 - 95  70 - 105 82 - 120 - -
Poids de l'aile   kg 3,9 4,3 4,6 4,9 5,2 5,5
Homologation   EN/LTF B B B B B B

Les différents coloris de la Hook 5 :

Hook 5 Astral Astral
Hook 5 Bora Bora
Hook 5 Soul Soul
Hook 5 Citrus Citrus

En conclusion :

Ce qui nous plaît dans cette voile c’est vraiment ce côté polyvalent. Avec une Hook 5 on peut se faire plaisir à chaque vol quelle que soit l’envie du moment. Waga, acrobatie, premier 100 Km, c’est du bonheur à chaque fois.